CD Review “Men in Black 3”

Composer: Danny Elfman
Label: Sony Masterworks
Release Date: May 29, 2012
Tracks: 22
Running Time: 54 minutes

Our Score: 3.5 out of 5 stars

Danny Elfman is one of my favorite composers of all-time. He has such a unique sound and when you hear his scores you know right away it is his work. It is only right that Danny Elfman composed the score for this film, especially since he scored the two previous “Men In Black” movies. In his third time around it this franchise, he is still able to deliver an entertaining score and even packs a bit of heart.

One of my favorites tracks on the album has to be the relaxing yet comforting “Under the Bridge”.  Believe it or not I was not a fan of “Men in Black 3 – Main Titles”.  I love the theme to “Men in Black” but the added electric guitars on these main titles did not sit right with me and left me wanting to skip to the next track.  I feel that Danny Elfman has really matured though over on this score and after two films he really understands what to deliver for “Men in Black”.

Like in most of Eflman’s work he continues to blend orchestral and electronic sounds.  The album is itself runs just shy of 60 minutes and really sums up the whole film from the moment it starts.  If you are a fan of the “Men in Black” series and Elfman’s past scores you will not be disappointed with this release.  Also if you haven’t seen this film it really kicks you in the mood to watch it for sure.

Track List:
1. Men in Black 3 – Main Titles
2. Spiky Bulba
3. The Set-Up
4. Headquarters
5. Regret
6. Wrong
7. Not Funny
8. Big Trouble
9. Out on a Limb
10. Time Jump
11. Bad Fortune
12. Forget Me Not
13. Into the Past
14. Griffin Steps Up
15. True Story
16. The Prize-Monocycles
17. Boris Meets Boris
18. Under the Bridge
19. The Mission Begins
20. Mission Accomplished
21. A Close One
22. Men in Black 3 – Main Title Revisited

Speak Your Mind

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *