CD Review: Caliban “I Am Nemesis”

“I Am Nemesis”
Century Media
Producer: Benny Richter, Marc Goertz
Tracks: 12

Our Score: 3 out of 5 stars

“I Am Nemesis” is the 8th studio album from heavy metal group Caliban. The group hails from the Ruhr area of Germany and consists of Andreas Doener- vocals, Marc Goertz- guitar, Patrick Grun- drums, Denis Schmidt- guitar/vocals and, Marco Schaller- bass. The album is being released via Century Media Records and features 12 tracks that were produced by Benny Richter and Marc Goertz.

The new album by Caliban grabs you by the face and just doesn’t let go. The album cuts directly to the core and picks up where the bands previous release titled “Say Hello to Tragedy” left off. Guest vocal performances by Mitch Luker of Suicide Silence and Marcus Bischoff of Heaven Shall Burn only add to the guttural attack of “I Am Nemesis”. Tracks like “Memorial” feature machine gun like double bass playing along with melodic choruses while tracks like “Broadcast To Damnation” and “Modern Warfare” go up one side of you and down the other. Producer Benny Richter and Co-Producer/Guitarist Marc Goertz did a great job creating a really heavy album. Each song on “I Am Nemesis” features a fairly straight forward arrangement which I felt made the songs quickly accessible. Personally I would have like to have heard more melodic choruses/break downs as I think this is a real strong point that the band does not utilize enough. Over I feel Caliban’s “I Am Nemesis” is sure to be hit among the head banging faithful.

Track Listing:
1.)    We Are The Many
2.)    The Bogeyman
3.)    Memorial
4.)    No Tomorrow
5.)    Edge Of Black
6.)    Davy Jones
7.)    Deadly Dream
8.)    Open Letter
9.)    Dein R3.ich
10.)   Broadcast To Damnation
11.)  This Oath
12.)  Modern Warfare

Speak Your Mind

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *