CD Review: Hemina “Synthetic”

Nightmare Records
Tracks: 11

Our Score: 2.5 out of 5 stars

“Synthetic” is the latest release from the Australian progressive/metal band Hemina. The album is being released via Nightmare records and features 11 brand new tracks mixed by Tommy Hansen (Helloween). Packed with a variety of tones and sonic landscapes the latest album by Hemina is what I would describe as Devin Townsend meets Evanescence.

Most of the 11 songs contained on “Synthetic” feature very lengthy arrangements that I found hard to focus on as the tracks dragged on past the 4 minute mark. Though the album was not as heavy and guitar dominant as I would have liked there were one or two tracks worth mentioning. “Even in Heaven” is a straight forward rocker with melodic vocal passages and a ripping instrumental accompaniment. While the albums closing track “Haunting Me” has a really cool fell and vibe to it.

The production/mixing on the album I thought was very well done and helped enhance the performance of each musician. Though I personally would have preferred the songs to be a bit shorter If you are a fan of bands like Yes, Dream Theater and Ayreon then you will surely want to check out the latest release from the band Hemina.

Track Listing:
1.) This Hour of Ours
2.) To Conceive a Plan
3.) The Boy is Dead
4.) For All Wrong Reasons
5.) And Now to Find a Friend
6.) With What I See
7.) Hunting Is For Women
8.) Even in Heaven
9.) Conduit to the Sky
10.) Haunting Me!
11.) Divine

Speak Your Mind

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *