CD Review: Slash “Made in Stoke 24/7/11”

“Made in Stoke 24/7/11”
Number of Discs: 2
Running time: 160 mins
Label: Eagle Records

Our Score: 4 out of 5 stars

Slash is one of the greatest guitarist in the industry. This 2011 live release was recorded at the Victoria Hall in Stoke On Trent on July 24th. A cool fact about this show, is that it marks Slash’s return to his childhood home. Now obviously you know that Slash is know best for his guitar work but on this record the vocals were handled by Myles Kennedy of Alter Bridge. Let me tell you Myles totally rocks on vocals and nails some really great Guns N’ Roses tracks. Since this tour was to promote Slash’s debut album, the setlist featured tracks from that album, but also from his band work with Snakepit, Velvet Revolver and of course classic songs that he co-wrote for Guns N’ Roses.

I gotta tell you listening to the guitar work on this album is really loud but also focused and clear. I found myself busting out the air guitar throughout listening. Fans of Velvet Revolver, keep an eye out for “Slither”. Fans of Guns N’ Roses, keep an eye out of “Civil War” (in which Myles Kennedy nails), “Sweet Child O’ Mine” and “Paradise City” (which also closes the show). Slash rips the hell out of that guitar and Myles Kennedy impresses with his amazing vocal work.  Also notable that the set includes a jam packed two disc set with a decent insert included as well.  Whether you are fan of Slash’s solo work or no, I actually think it rocks pretty hard, this album is worth checking out.

Disc: 1
1. Been There Lately
2. Night Train
3. Ghost
4. Mean Bone
5. Back From Cali
6. Rocket Queen
7. Civil War
8. Nothing To Say
9. Starlight
10. Promise

Disc: 2
1. Doctor Alibi
2. Speed Parade
3. Watch This
4. Beggars & Hangers On
5. Patience
6. Godfather Solo
7. Sweet Child O’ Mine
8. Slither
9. By The Sword
10. Mr Brownstone
11. Paradise City

Speak Your Mind

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *