CD Review: She & Him “A Very She & Him Christmas”

She & Him
A Very She & Him Christmas
Label: Merge Records
Length: 33 minutes
12 Tracks

Our Score: 5 out of 5 stars

There is only one way to describe this album…”An instant classic”. I have been waiting for Zooey Deschanel to release a Christmas album since she teased us with her amazing singing in 2003’s “Elf”. Here voice is just meant to sing holiday music. The album includes 12 folk/indie covers of classic Christmas songs. I can easily see She & Him’s version of these songs catching on to become the “norm” popular version of these great classics.

There is just something about Zooey Deschanel’s voice that makes this a total kick-back and relax Christmas album. Her voice is really mellow but also uplifting which makes for a unique folk take on these tracks. What I like most is the track “Baby It’s Cold Outside”, which Zooey is known singing in the movie “Elf”, role reversal with her and M. Ward, which is really fun. The rendition of “Blue Christmas” is one of my new favorite version of this song.  “Little Saint Nick” and “Rockin’ Around the Christmas Tree” are definitely two of the most fun tracks on the album.

Overall I think this will be my new favorite Christmas album of the year if not the last few years. I also see this album sticking around on my iPhone even after the holidays are over. If you are fan of great Christmas music, then you need to check this album out and help it put you in the real mood for this year’s upcoming holiday.

Track list:
1. “The Christmas Waltz”
2. “Christmas Day”
3. “Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas”
4. “I’ll Be Home for Christmas”
5. “Christmas Wish”
6. “Sleigh Ride”
7. “Rockin’ Around the Christmas Tree”
8. “Silver Bells”
9. “Baby, It’s Cold Outside”
10. “Blue Christmas”
11. “Little Saint Nick”
12. “The Christmas Song”

Speak Your Mind

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *