CD Review Jasta “Jasta”

Entertainment One
Producer: Steve Ross/Jamey Jasta
Tracks: 12

Our Score: 4 out of 5 stars

From start to finish Jamey Jasta’s second solo album simply titles “Jasta” is a sonic assault on your senses. “Jasta” grabs you with its opening track “Walk That Path Alone” and doesn’t let go until the last note of “Death Bestowed” rings out. This album in my opinion truly shows Jamey’s pure vocal talent. The album is full of signature Jasta gravel vocals but it also showcases Jasta’s range as a singer. Tracks such as “Nothing They Say” and “Something You Should Know” are prime examples as they both show that Jamey can do much more than just scream or growl.

The thing I liked most about the album besides the guest vocal appearances by people such as Zakk Wylde (Black Label Society) and D. Randall Blythe (Lamb of God) was that Jamey reached out to his fans in an effort to fund the album. Prior to the album’s release fans could purchase items through Jamey’s web store and in return their name would appear in the albums linear notes. The second I heard this I jumped and board and I have to say it was really cool to get the album and see my name along with the other fans that helped with the album listed in the special thank you section.

Jamey Jasta really brings it with his new “Jasta” album. The only negative I could find was that even though the album features 12 tracks it only clocks in at around 35 minutes. Though this isn’t necessarily a bad thing as the album definitely gets its point across your average listener may shy away from the release for a more quantity over quality approach.

Track Listing:
1.) Walk That Path Alone
2.) Mourn the Illusion
3.) Nothing They Say
4.) Screams from the Sanctuary
5.) Say Anthem of the Freedom Fighter
6.) Something You Should Know (Featuring Phil Labonte)
7.) Set You Adrift
8.) Enslaved, Dead or Depraved (Featuring D. Randall Blythe)
9.) With a Resounding Voice (Featuring Tim Lambesis)
10.) The Fearless Must Endure (Featuring Zakk Wylde)
11.) Heart of a Warrior (Featuring Mike Vallely)
12.) Death Bestowed (Featuring Mark Morton)

Share this article

Speak Your Mind

Your email address will not be published.