CD Review: Blaqk Audio “Bright Black Heaven”

Blaqk Audio
“Bright Black Heaven”
Superball Music
Tracks: 12

Our Score: 3 out of 5 stars

“Bright Black Heaven” is the latest release from synth-pop group Blaqk Audio which consists of AFI lead singer Davey Havok and guitarist Jade Puget. “Bright Black Heaven” is the follow up to the groups 2007 debut release “CexCells”. The album is being released via Superball Music and features 12 new tracks produced by both Havok and Puget.

Release dates for “Bright Black Heaven” have been being announced since 2009 and an after a number of postponements the album is finally being released. Fans of the group’s previous release “CexCells” will surely enjoy the new album as it features a much more polished and mature approach. This could be accredited to it being the group’s second release or the fact that it has been in production for 3 years. Either way I found this release to have improved leaps and bounds from the previous. Song structure seemed to come more in to play making each of the 12 tracks unique and colorful. Tracks such as “Fade to White”, “Everybody’s Friends”, and “Bon Voyeurs” all had some interesting elements of darkness added to them which at key points broke through the synth fueled poppy backing tracks.

Though Blaqk Audio is totally separate from Havok and Puget’s other group it is still hard to see the two in any other light. Even though I think “Bright Black Heaven” is a bit dated in its approach there were still a few AFI nuances hidden within several of the songs which were fun to hear. These little glimpses will surely give AFI’s fan club the Despair Faction hope that new material from the bay area band will eventually come to light. However until that happens, fans will have to adapt to the new sounds created by Davey and Jade.

Track Listing:
1.)    Cold War
2.)    Fade to White
3.)    Faith Healer
4.)    Deconstructing Gods
5.)    Everybody’s Friends
6.)    Let’s Be Honest
7.)    With Your Arms Around You
8.)    Bliss
9.)    Bon Voyeurs
10.)   The Witness
11.)   Say Red
12.)   Ill-Lit Ships

One Reply to “CD Review: Blaqk Audio “Bright Black Heaven””

Speak Your Mind

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *